CDV777-1
YouTube Username: vanamonde2

Mini Thunderbolt Parts - Not Getting Built Any Time Soon

Sun May 15, 2011 5:26 pm

After almost destroying my left ankle and being laid-up for a month with a month left to go before I get my cast off I started drawing up the parts to the mini-thunderbolt. Making those parts-to-fit piece-by-piece on the first one was a whole different process than trying to work-up drawings to have the parts made. When I first built the thing I made the parts as I went along. It took me months of on and off time at work doing that. I thought I would get the drawings done so I could have, where I work, quote me a price to make the parts for 20 or so mini-thunderbolts. Trying to figure out how to tolerance the parts that fit inside one another is a real pain. For example I have to take into account the tolerance of the bushing that goes around the air tube in the rotator. On the same bushing I have to figure out how loose it can be inside the hole in the lower rotator plate. I have to figure all this out so when the parts are done I can take any of those 20 bushings and any of the 20 rotator lower plates and they will all fit without being too loose or too tight. I have to do this on all the parts that go together. I forgot how many parts are a slip-fit on this thing. Actually I probably shouldn't get too carried away on it now. I should probably just B.S. it to get the drawings done so I can get an idea how much it will cost. Then I can get it figured out later if it's feasible (sp?) (doesn't cost too much) to have the parts made. Of course the closer tolerance on the parts the higher the quote price will be per part. I'm only doing the rotator/chopper assembly. If I do have some made then it will only be the rotator/chopper and if anyone buys them they can figure out what to use as a blower themselves. I know some of you already know about the difficulty in making parts fit I just thought I would share the ordeal. As it is there are more than 2