Daniel

Westinghouse sirens?

Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:49 am

You have all seen this video before. This is the "paint can" siren seen in various locations around Oregon. Most have a flat top but this has a cone. People have speculated that it is a Sterling, or perhaps a HOR, but a comment made today suggests that it is a Westinghouse siren. I took a photo of Imbler's removed siren which had no manufacturer's label except a Westinghouse motor. Many sirens used Westinghouse motors, but did Westinghouse, like GE, build their own sirens at one time?

http://youtu.be/Oytx9-Fd3G8

If you're in Oregon, these are found in John Day, Canyonville, Imbler (removed), Rickreall, Gardner, Camas Valley, Tangent (with homemade horns), and Brownsville.
Lex orandi, lex credendi, lex vivendi.

kx250rider
Supporter
Supporter
YouTube Username: kx250racer

Re: Westinghouse sirens?

Sat Jun 15, 2013 2:45 pm

I have no knowledge on that, but I do know that at times, Westinghouse and GE (and RCA and Brunswick and many other major electric & electronic mfrs), were bought & sold amongst each other. Brunswick (the same company who makes the bowling alley machinery and made radios in the 1920s), made a siren if I recall. And somewhere entwined in the mix, was Harley-Davidson and AMF Sporting goods. That could be a clue. My guess is that if Westinghouse looked deep in their file cabinets, they found a license and patent for a siren to build on demand...

Charles
Yes, that's a real 500-lb Federal SD-10 I'm holding (braggart!)

Daniel

Sat Jun 15, 2013 4:23 pm