Gents'

Vintage syren electrics

Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:42 am

Gentlemen,

Along with the triple-tone syren I am restoring came the heaviest electrical cabinet I have ever seen. The bolts that held it on the wall ended externally.

It is obviously some sort of test panel with an accompanying: "Slow running switch for syren". Now... I am heartily aware of your, sometimes frightening, knowledge on the topic and would appreciate any input.

I am not an expert on vintage electrics so any comment would be helpful, as my prudent side would have me discard such obsolete equipment. I would sincerely like to be proved as wrong as an extremely wrong thing that's been recently diagnosed with wrongnessitis.

Many thanks, chaps!

Archon

Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:18 am

Have any pictures of the siren inself

Conky 2000

Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:49 pm

Archon wrote:Have any pictures of the siren inself
Um, it's in his avatar. Do Yorkshirians spell it with a "y", like "tire" vs. "tyre"?
If your siren is a-failin'
Chances are that it's a Whelen
And if it's just about to die
Then it must be an ATI

Robert Gift

Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:20 pm

Wow! Fantastic, Gent!
The three wyres on the left are RED, YELLOW, BLUE
I assume that is three-phase.

On the right side, all are BLUE.

Are they getting the syren to run at slow speed by using only one phase - the blue phase?

How wonderful that you acquired all of that.
I would not discard or alter anything.
What an interesting syren. (Leave it to a Limey to spell it that way!)

PS: Is the cover with holes on the rotor intake placed there to reduce dB?

Gents'

Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:32 pm

Yes, the syren (siren) is featured as my avatar. Also, it is featured in the second image down on the pallet. I will upload some images of the siren soon. It is not as attractive or as huge as your USA sirens, just functional.