BBoi00
YouTube Username: Sirens and Stuff

Thunderbolt 1000T Lansing, Michigan

Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:54 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlB7MnfqvVU
So I originally was going to record a Thunderbolt 1003 but it was replaced by a 2001-130 so I pulled up the siren map and we shot over to this 1000T. Sorry for talking during the vid, I was trying to give my parents a heads up about the siren starting. During our trip through Lansing I also noticed multiple Modulators. Also if I did something wrong please excuse me because this is my first time posting on the board. With that being said I hope you enjoy!
Happy and slightly confused owner of a STL-10, Whelen wps-2905, Federal Signal Thunderbolt 1000, and a Federal Enterprises Model-2

r4tbolts

Re: Thunderbolt 1000T Lansing, Michigan

Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:29 pm

Nice video. Lansing tests seem to be getting shorter and shorter. I grew up in Lansing when the T-bolts (most placed in service in the mid-60's) were tested in Alert and Attack and the testing would last a good 3 to five minutes. BTW, where did you see the mods? I know of one on the parking ramp at Grand and Shiawassee, where were the others? FYI another Mod is at the MSU Golf Course in East Lansing, MSU replaced the T-bolts on campus with 2001's a few years ago.

Toledo 2t22
YouTube Username: Calvin Mayer

Sun Mar 06, 2016 3:14 pm

There are Modulator IIs all over the MSU campus now. One of them replaced one of the 2001s that was atop the Manly Miles Building (Street View). The other two may have also been replaced but I hardly travel up there anymore since my girlfriend graduated last May. Just off the top of my head there's another at Farm and Service, one on the Intramural East Field along Shaw, one at the SE corner of the Stadium, and one between the Breslin and the Red Cedar.

Here are some photos Jennifer sent me of the IM east field Modulator II. I tried filming this once last year after it was powered up but all I heard was 2001 ambiance.

GO GREEN